DTRPG: Nice D&D Sale

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

JamesV

Ribbit
Reaction score
It's been making the rounds, but in case no one knows yet, there are three really nice D&D bundles on sale at DriveThru.
  1. Rules Cyclopedia + All the Mystara Gazeteers.
  2. The collection of the 1e core books.
  3. 2e core + Planescape
I never had a chance to own any of the Gazeteers, but heard that most of them were cool, is it worth picking up?

I'm an OSR noob. Does anyone have any suggestions for must-have OSR material I'd want to pick up?

Was excited to see Planescape cheap in digital and was like "get in my cart!"

Gazeteers: I always thought they were sort of cool, but sort of grabbed stuff out of them piecemeal. Not sure I'd be up for investing in a whole bunch of them.

I never had a chance to own any of the Gazeteers, but heard that most of them were cool, is it worth picking up?

The real question is, how much into BECMI/RC are you? The Gazeteers offer a bunch of tools for that particular iteration of D&D, from new character classes (humanoids in Orcs of Thar, dwarven clerics in Rockhome) to rules for Traveller-like arbitrage trading (Republic of Darokin and Kingdom of Ierendi), in addition to the Mystara/Known World fluff, of course.

I'm an OSR noob. Does anyone have any suggestions for must-have OSR material I'd want to pick up?
That's a broad topic. Are you looking for system, settings or adventures? Are you looking for stuff that captures a particular era of D&D or some of the Gonzo New Weird stuff? Or are you looking for things that use the engine to build new games?

The OSR has a lot of stuff in it.