Historical Wargaming Thread

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

under_score

Legendary Pubber
Reaction score
I am new to this hobby. I remember my father trying to teach us Panzer Leader when I was a kid, but we never really got it. I did play Warhammer Fantasy for a few years, but never looked into historicals. Over the past few months though, I've been drifting into new territory. I think it's because my reading in general has leaned towards history over the past few years. But then I got Memoir 44 and it quickly became my favorite board game. Recently picked up Command & Colors: Napoleonics and Waterloo: Enemy Mistakes. Now I've been watching Little Wars TV and dreaming of fielding my own armies.
A historical wargaming club apparently started up in my city last year. They list 20+ members, but all events have been canceled and there's been zero chatter since March. I'm hoping they pick things up once it's prudent to do so, but in the meantime the Pub is my surrogate club. I'd love to hear what games people play, any particular battles foughts, recommendations for getting started - what war? what system? what scale? - any book or movie recommendations (I watched the 1970 Waterloo film last week and was depressed that something like that will never be made again).

Ran a wonderful War of the Roses campaign last year using Terry Gore's Medieval Warfare rules, my favourite system for historicals this side of Black Powder/Hail Caesar.

Ran a wonderful War of the Roses campaign last year using Terry Gore's Medieval Warfare rules, my favourite system for historicals this side of Black Powder/Hail Caesar.