How are published settings designed?

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

Giganotosaurus

Dreaming of Electric Sheep
Reaction score
I know that several forum members are in the Rpg industry and I was wondering how official campaign settings are designed? What elements do you elaborate on? Do you flesh out whole cosmologies or focus on smaller regions. I'm sure there isn't a formula for it, but was wondering what you put in when making a campaign setting.

I'm not a published designer, but this book of essays by game designers was quite enlightening. I have written bibles before, for tv/radio, and there's a fair amount of overlap when it comes to common approaches to world-building.

I know that several forum members are in the Rpg industry and I was wondering how official campaign settings are designed? What elements do you elaborate on? Do you flesh out whole cosmologies or focus on smaller regions. I'm sure there isn't a formula for it, but was wondering what you put in when making a campaign setting.
Is this just a campaign setting or does it include rules on how to play, etc.?

I wrote a couple of posts on the topic.

How to Make a Fantasy Sandbox

What it took to publish Blackmarsh

Introducing Blackmarsh

That vague setting behind Blackmarsh and Points of Lights

For me, it's a case of what the GM needs to know as opposed to the players. After I have the initial concept of course.

But it doesn't really matter if it's long or short. So long as the GM has just enough reference to fill in the blanks. You can also sill this with supplemental material later on as well.

Here's a longer answer based on my experience, and after 35 years of buying and reading settings.