Learning to write "fluff"?

Toadmaster

Legendary Member
Reaction score
I am a data geek, always have been. Give me horsepower, dates, muzzle velocities etc and I am a happy camper. I also come from a background of fact based report writing (who, what, where, when, why and how).

I am also an amateur historian, it really doesn't much matter the subject, if it is history I'm in. If it is history about the development of gadgets :heart::heart::heart: .

What I find though is when trying to write something a little softer, more interesting to read, it tends to come across as Joe Friday "just the facts ma'am". It often resembles a fleshed out list of bullet points. I have 20+ years of ruthless trimming of any non-essential language to get past.

Anyway I guess my question is where do you start when trying to humanize lists of data points to make them more interesting reading. Part of the way I got to this point was from taking classes on technical writing, short, and too the point.
Creative writing classes seem to go too far the other way, I'm not looking to write the next Harry Potter book, just livening up some interesting historically based technical material so it is more interesting. There are some historians and science writers who seem to do this well, where do they learn this?

If anyone knows the name of this particular branch of writing I'd be interested so I can try to find a class. Books, blogs etc with tips for this style of writing would be very welcome.

FeralToaster

Legendary Member
Reaction score
Hmm two things, one if trying to personalize a setting I would recommend reading books of the cozy mystery genre. stuff like cats that solve crimes or an unlikely duo solves crimes or anything that would get aired on USA "where characters are welcomed. The genre is based on repeating a small number of types of mysteries over and over again but because of the charisma of the character writing the popularity persists even if the same type of mystery is repeated.