Pulp!

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

Cowboy Duck

Formerly MattyHelms
Reaction score
I am by no means a miniature expert. I have ruined any mini that I have tried to paint. My desire to remember or reference detailed rules at the table lags far behind the desire to laugh and tell cool stories with my friends. My "miniature" collection is, no fooling, generic game pawns glued to cheap poker chips.

Nevertheless, I do enjoy some miniature games - the fast playing, heavily thematic ones like Gaslands or Six Gun Sound: Devil's Elbow - just based on the level of prep and commitment required versus role-playing games.

So I picked up Pulp! from Osprey. Man, is it cool. It can easily run anything I want - hero pulps like the Spider, adventure like Indiana Jones or Big Trouble in Little China, weird west, or swashbuckling right out of the gate. What's really cool for me is that it doesn't try to enforce that great pulp feeling through rules, but through flavor. Character abilities are named things like Terrifying Laughter or Swing From the Chandelier. Optional character backgrounds are things like My Parents Were in the Circus and I Was a Vigilante in Chicago. There's a nice section at the end which gives examples (not systems) of modifying the rules to suit a particular adventure - the penalty on your activation rolls after you discover your long lost daughter fighting for your enemies, ninjas disappearing in a flash and reappearing elsewhere instead of standard movement, etc.

All in all, a great game for someone looking to throw some miniatures on the table with next to no prep and have quick story-based fun with a friend.

Tell me more already!

How does it work?
It's a good, basic miniatures game - roll for initiative, IGOUGO, repeat. One rules wrinkle is that each model may only get a partial activation based on its activation roll - a model with partial activation can only take a defensive stance, hold for reactive fire, or pass.