Marvel Faserip Clone

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com
Yeah, I've been familiar with it for a while, I watch for the Faserip clothes. Astonishing Superheroes is a two-book clone of FASERIP, and this is a variant of MSH. Lots of good stuff for us old fans.

TristramEvans TristramEvans hates it. I like.it, but it bears mentioning that MSH had never been my favorite system/game, and I will admit that the chargen is wacked, though easily fixed IMO. The actual FASERIP stat generation is what I mean, I actually like the powers generation part. It's not a "straight clone", but has a lot of tof the designer's house rules. I'm a fan of the designer, and don't have a big attachment to MSH, so YMMV.

There is certainly no shortage of MSH clones.

Would you rate it as being pretty good then?

I don't like FASERIP as much as MSH there are some things missing, but I've not seen the 2E (which I think was on its way.) Astonishing Heroes is pretty much a straight clone which I like, but not sure about its legality. It isn't /bad/ mind you. It's pretty solid but it made choices I wouldn't have if I were cloning it.

Now I'm worried what image will be posted when you want to comment on something you really don't like!

giphy.gif

4C Expanded is another one - with a Wild West Variant as well. There are a couple of games hanging around that use the system for different genres: Humanish by Arion games is kind of like World of Darkness, and 4Saken, an investigatory horror game. It can be quite flexible, can FASERIP

If I remember correctly, combat in Marvel depended entirely on the attacker's stat (Fighting or Agility) without any adjustment for the particular target, so that Daredevil was as easy (or hard) for a character to hit as Juggernaut. A character could dodge but that would use an action. Was that the case, and if so have any retroclones added any sort of passive or active defence?