Login Issues

Voros

Doomed Investigator
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
6,470
Reaction score
9,322
Hey all

For tbe past week I've been getting an error when trying to login via FB on my iPhone 6 and LG Tablet:

"Login Failed: You can't use Facebook to log into this app or website because there's an issue with its implementation of Facebook Login.--"

I tried to Login with Google but it got complicated as it recognized my Google account email was associated with the FB account and wanted me to associate them from the first account. Tried Discord and got an Application Error message on the Tablet and iPhone. Tried to create a new account using an old email address to login and tell y'all about the issues and that worked, the system seems to have recognized and associated the 'new' account with my original account!
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
I think he's figured out were banning him....
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
I kid! I kid! It's just you're higher up on all the Pub metrics so u had to find a way to slow you down and let me catch up!
 

Apparition

New Generation Grognard
Administrator
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
2,772
Is there anyone else that uses Facebook to login encountering this issue?
 

Endless Flight

Nerd
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
5,668
Reaction score
11,478
I have a Facebook account and did a test and it works fine. Not sure what the issue is.
 

Voros

Doomed Investigator
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
6,470
Reaction score
9,322
I'll try on my desktop once I'm home and see if it is an issue on there.
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
I'm having issues reaching the site from my wifi network but not via Verizon.

It's wierd because it is just Rpgpub.com. a traceroute just goes in an infinite loop.
 

Apparition

New Generation Grognard
Administrator
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
2,772
I'm having issues reaching the site from my wifi network but not via Verizon.

It's wierd because it is just Rpgpub.com. a traceroute just goes in an infinite loop.
@3rik reported the same issue. It sounds like a breakage in the Internets near where the Pub server is located. Depending on the route your ISP takes to the Pub, you may or may not be fine. If you could post a copy of that traceroute, I'd like to see it.
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
@3rik reported the same issue. It sounds like a breakage in the Internets near where the Pub server is located. Depending on the route your ISP takes to the Pub, you may or may not be fine. If you could post a copy of that traceroute, I'd like to see it.
I pulled the first two lines but here's an image of the rest of the trace

Screenshot from 2020-02-09 16-08-41-01.jpeg
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
Yeah, that's a breakdown at NetActuate's Ashburn, Virgina datacenter. That's, not so coincidentally, where the RPG Pub's server is located. Unfortunately, there's not much we (or even our hosting provider) can do about it until NetActuate fixes it.
Could you be a pal and call them and tell them they suck donkey balls for me? K. Thanks.
 

Giganotosaurus

Börk! Börk!
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
527
Reaction score
1,066
I've been having a similar problem where my PC's can't access the site at all, but my phone can.
 

Apparition

New Generation Grognard
Administrator
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
2,772
Clear your browser(s) cache and cookies. If you're using Microsoft Windows, open up a Command Prompt, and type: ipconfig /flushdns

If you're using Apple macOS, open up Terminal, and type: sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder;sudo killall mDNSResponderHelper;sudo dscacheutil -flushcache

If you clear your browser's cache and cookies, and flush your computer's DNS cache, and still have issues, let me know.
 

3rik

invidus es nostris quoniam tu talia nescis
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
1,488
Reaction score
1,783
I'm BACK!!!! The site wouldn't load at all for me, not on my cell phone either. I could only contact the admins by email. Not sure which guys I mailed with but thanks for the support! One was @Apparition.

Clear your browser(s) cache and cookies. If you're using Microsoft Windows, open up a Command Prompt, and type: ipconfig /flushdns

If you're using Apple macOS, open up Terminal, and type: sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder;sudo killall mDNSResponderHelper;sudo dscacheutil -flushcache

If you clear your browser's cache and cookies, and flush your computer's DNS cache, and still have issues, let me know.
I did this but it didn't help.

Only just now, out of the blue, I suddenly managed to load the Pub again! Geez! That's what, four days without the Pub? It stopped working shortly after 1:14 am Sunday and it's 3:45 am Thursday now...

 
Last edited:

Endless Flight

Nerd
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
5,668
Reaction score
11,478
Apparition is one who really helped you, 3rik. He knows all the tricks. Glad to see you back.
 

Giganotosaurus

Börk! Börk!
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
527
Reaction score
1,066
Clear your browser(s) cache and cookies. If you're using Microsoft Windows, open up a Command Prompt, and type: ipconfig /flushdns

If you're using Apple macOS, open up Terminal, and type: sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder;sudo killall mDNSResponderHelper;sudo dscacheutil -flushcache

If you clear your browser's cache and cookies, and flush your computer's DNS cache, and still have issues, let me know.
Didn't work. Sometimes I can't even access the pub over WiFi, I have to use cell data instead. It says that the connection has timed out or that it isn't responding.
 

Apparition

New Generation Grognard
Administrator
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
2,772
Didn't work. Sometimes I can't even access the pub over WiFi, I have to use cell data instead. It says that the connection has timed out or that it isn't responding.
All right. The next step is to rule out your ISP's DNS server as the issue. Please go here. Scroll down to where it says "Setup on PC." Make sure that Windows is selected. The first instruction should be "Click on the Start menu, then click on Control Panel." Follow the first ten steps. Then, just to be on the safe side, reboot your computer. Then try going to the Pub again.

Please let me know if that works.
 

Apparition

New Generation Grognard
Administrator
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
2,772
Good to hear. The fixes NetActuate made just took several days to propagate throughout the Internets because some DNS servers are slower to update than others.
 

Bunch

Prince of Insufficient Light.
Joined
Aug 16, 2017
Messages
6,110
Reaction score
8,690
Good to hear. The fixes NetActuate made just took several days to propagate throughout the Internets because some DNS servers are slower to update than others.
Yeah I'm back too!
 

3rik

invidus es nostris quoniam tu talia nescis
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
1,488
Reaction score
1,783
Minutes after I placed my last post in this thread the site stopped working again. I just now managed to get back on, AGAIN.
 

Magister

Legendary Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
258
Reaction score
353
I posted a joke to this thread eight days ago, and then I got nothing but timeouts from Friday to last night. (I posted on the weekend from a remote bunker with a different internet connection.)

Posting to this thread is apparently bad luck. So I'm going to do it again just to be sure. If you don't see me here for five days, you'll know it really is a cursed thread.
 

3rik

invidus es nostris quoniam tu talia nescis
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
1,488
Reaction score
1,783
I posted a joke to this thread eight days ago, and then I got nothing but timeouts from Friday to last night. (I posted on the weekend from a remote bunker with a different internet connection.)

Posting to this thread is apparently bad luck. So I'm going to do it again just to be sure. If you don't see me here for five days, you'll know it really is a cursed thread.
Basically the same was happening to me, only I was posting in the Real Life thread about our new and very silent washing machine. So, it's not this thread doing it.
 

Voros

Doomed Investigator
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
6,470
Reaction score
9,322
Had to switch phones and somehow that led to Google forgetting a number of my pws so when I requested a pw reset it reactivated my VorosRisen account?

Is there anyway to merge this account to my original Voros account so I don't lose my ever-important post count?
 

Séadna

Legendary Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2018
Messages
2,867
Reaction score
4,070
Ah man and here I was thinking the forum had turned into a Shonen Anime and the big posters were achieving their second forms. I was eagerly awaiting TristramAscended, EdgeGod, Hyper-Nobby, Dumarest no Kami, Baulderstone G-form.
 

Endless Flight

Nerd
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
5,668
Reaction score
11,478
Had to switch phones and somehow that led to Google forgetting a number of my pws so when I requested a pw reset it reactivated my VorosRisen account?

Is there anyway to merge this account to my original Voros account so I don't lose my ever-important post count?
Is your Voros email correct? I can send a password reset to that email.
 

Voros

Doomed Investigator
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
6,470
Reaction score
9,322
Is your Voros email correct? I can send a password reset to that email.
It is correct, but when I did the reset it activated this VorosRisen account. Odd. Not a big deal but maybe worth a shot.
 

Endless Flight

Nerd
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
5,668
Reaction score
11,478
I sent the email for a password reset.

I see three names with “Voros” in them. If those are all yours, is there a particular reason you have so many accounts? I can delete them if you want.
 

Voros

Doomed Investigator
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
6,470
Reaction score
9,322
I sent the email for a password reset.

I see three names with “Voros” in them. If those are all yours, is there a particular reason you have so many accounts? I can delete them if you want.
Yes you can delete them, I think I created a few extra accounts when I was locked out and trying to get back in.
 

Nobby-W

Far more clumsy and random than a blaster
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
1,932
Reaction score
3,045
Ah man and here I was thinking the forum had turned into a Shonen Anime and the big posters were achieving their second forms. I was eagerly awaiting TristramAscended, EdgeGod, Hyper-Nobby, Dumarest no Kami, Baulderstone G-form.
Technically, Nobby-W has ascended. It's the name of my first ever (and only) ascended Nethack character.
 
Top